Search results for “Cyberbullying through the new media findings from an international network”

Cyberbullying through the New Media: Findings from an international networkCyberbullying is one of the darker and more troubling aspects to the growing accessibility of new media technologies. Children in developed countries engage with cyberspace at younger and younger ages, and the use of the internet as a means to bully and harass has been greeted with alarm by educationalists, parents, the media, and governments. This important new book is the result of a four-year international collaboration, funded by the EU, to better understand how we can cope and confront cy…

Bullying Beyond the Schoolyard: Preventing and Responding to CyberbullyingThe #1 cyberbullying prevention book just got better! Cyberbullying occurs when three main components intersect: teens, technology, and trouble. Now in its second edition, this essential guide is completely updated with new research findings and evolving best practices for prevention and response, including: Summaries of recent legal rulings related to teens and technology A plan for educators, parents, students, and law enforcement to work individually and collaboratively to prevent an…

American Girls: Social Media and the Secret Lives of TeenagersA New York Times Bestseller Award-winning Vanity Fair writer Nancy Jo Sales crisscrossed the country talking to more than two hundred girls between the ages of thirteen and nineteen about their experiences online and off. They are coming of age online in a hypersexualized culture that has normalized extreme behavior, from pornography to the casual exchange of nude photographs; a culture rife with a virulent new strain of sexism; a culture in which teenagers are spending so much time on technolog…

Cyberbullying through the New Media: Findings from an international network (2013-11-16)A New York Times Bestseller Award-winning Vanity Fair writer Nancy Jo Sales crisscrossed the country talking to more than two hundred girls between the ages of thirteen and nineteen about their experiences online and off. They are coming of age online in a hypersexualized culture that has normalized extreme behavior, from pornography to the casual exchange of nude photographs; a culture rife with a virulent new strain of sexism; a culture in which teenagers are spending so much time on technolog…

Too Close to Home: A NovelFor readers of Jodi Picoult, Heather Gudenkauf, and Elizabeth Flock comes a riveting and timely novel that delves into a modern family’s harrowing encounter with the complex world of cyberbullying.  Jenna Moore finally feels that she and her family are exactly where they should be. Leaving busy London behind, they’ve moved to the beautiful, serene Welsh coast. There Jenna, her husband, Jack, and the couple’s four children have found a little slice of heaven. In the house of their dreams, …

Digital Media Ethics (Digital Media and Society)The original edition of this accessible and interdisciplinary textbook was the first to consider the ethical issues of digital media from a global perspective, introducing ethical theories from multiple cultures. This second edition has been thoroughly updated to cover current research and scholarship, and recent developments and technological changes. It also benefits from extensively updated case-studies and pedagogical material, including examples of “watershed” events such as privacy p…

Cyber Racism: White Supremacy Online and the New Attack on Civil Rights (Perspectives on a Multiracial America)In this exploration of the way racism is translated from the print-only era to the cyber era the author takes the reader through a devastatingly informative tour of white supremacy online. The book examines how white supremacist organizations have translated their printed publications onto the Internet. Included are examples of open as well as ‘cloaked’ sites which disguise white supremacy sources as legitimate civil rights websites. Interviews with a small sample of teenagers as they surf the w…

Truths and Myths of Cyber-bullying: International Perspectives on Stakeholder Responsibility and Children's Safety (New Literacies and Digital Epistemologies)Truths and Myths of Cyber-bullying features the work of internationally reputed researchers and program directors concerned with issues of cyber-bullying and internet safety. The book contains three sections, organizing the content for easy reference and classroom use. The first section introduces readers to the various ways in which researchers conceptualize cyber-bullying; the second provides a comprehensive review of legal considerations and communication rights; and the final section reviews…

Envy (Empty Coffin)Murder is such a dirty word…New York Times bestselling adult true crime author Gregg Olsen makes his YA debut with Empty Coffin, a gripping new fiction series for teens based on ripped-from-the-headlines stories…with a paranormal touch.Crime lives–and dies–in the deceptively picture-perfect town of Port Gamble (aka “Empty Coffin”), Washington. Evil lurks and strange things happen–and 15-year-olds Hayley and Taylor Ryan secretly use their wits and their telepathic “twin-sense” to u…

Virtual Workers and the Global Labour Market (Dynamics of Virtual Work)The emerging world of virtual work is not tied to physical workplaces or particular locations, but is dispersed and footloose. It is frequently precarious, and blurs the boundaries between work and non-work, production and consumption. Contributors to this wide-ranging volume of case studies identify the growing and diverse army of virtual workers. Building from an overarching introduction which discusses the salient features of virtual work, this collection considers the challenges in a…