Search results for “Childrens rights in the united states in search of a national policy”

Children's Rights in the United States: In Search of a National PolicyThe authors of this volume provide discussion on vital issues related to the rights of children in the United States, including: the historical and contextual perspective on the rights of children; the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child; the differing views on children’s rights and competencies; and the rights of children within the family, the social service system, the health care system, the educational system, the juvenile justice system and in employment. …

Trafficked Children and Youth in the United States: Reimagining Survivors (Rutgers Series in Childhood Studies)Trafficked children are portrayed by the media—and even by child welfare specialists—as hapless victims who are forced to migrate from a poor country to the United States, where they serve as sex slaves. But as Elzbieta M. Gozdziak reveals in Trafficked Children in the United States, the picture is far more complex.   Basing her observations on research with 140 children, most of them girls, from countries all over the globe, Gozdziak debunks many myths and uncovers the realities of the ca…

Right-Brained Children in a Left-Brained World: Unlocking the Potential of Your ADD ChildJeffrey Freed and Laurie Parsons provide an effective method for helping children with Attention Deficit Disorder excel in a classroom setting.In straightforward language, this book explains how to use the innovative “Learning Styles Inventory” to test for a right-brained learning style; help an ADD child master spelling—and build confidence—by committing complicated words to visual memory; tap an ADD kid’s amazing speed-reading abilities by stressing sight recognition and scanning rather th…

Hidden in Plain Sight: The Tragedy of Children's Rights from Ben Franklin to Lionel Tate (The Public Square) Hidden in Plain Sight tells the tragic untold story of children’s rights in America. It asks why the United States today, alone among nations, rejects the most universally embraced human-rights document in history, the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child. This book is a call to arms for America to again be a leader in human rights, and to join the rest of the civilized world in recognizing that the thirst for justice is not for adults alone. Barbara Bennett Woodhouse e…

Freedom's Children: Young Civil Rights Activists Tell Their Own Stories Hidden in Plain Sight tells the tragic untold story of children’s rights in America. It asks why the United States today, alone among nations, rejects the most universally embraced human-rights document in history, the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child. This book is a call to arms for America to again be a leader in human rights, and to join the rest of the civilized world in recognizing that the thirst for justice is not for adults alone. Barbara Bennett Woodhouse e…

Sit-In: How Four Friends Stood Up by Sitting Down (Jane Addams Honor Book (Awards))It was February 1, 1960.They didn’t need menus. Their order was simple.A doughnut and coffee, with cream on the side.This picture book is a celebration of the 50th anniversary of the momentous Woolworth’s lunch counter sit-in, when four college students staged a peaceful protest that became a defining moment in the struggle for racial equality and the growing civil rights movement. Andrea Davis Pinkney uses poetic, powerful prose to tell the story of these four young men, who followed Dr. Martin…

Children's Human Rights and Public Schooling in the United States (Constructing Knowledge: Curriculum Studies in Action)The United States tends to portray itself as a human rights leader. However, human rights concerns are confronted everyday by people in this democracy, including children. The purpose of this volume is to bring attention to the fact that against the backdrop of neoliberal expansion, serious human rights violations are taking place among children everywhere, including in the US. The daily struggles among groups of school children in the US are specifically considered here, such as children who ar…

Fathers' Rights: Hard-Hitting and Fair Advice for Every Father Involved in a Custody DisputeA little girl lies in bed dreaming about tomorrow. Around the world, some days are ending while others are just beginning.Millions of fathers are currently embroiled in the fight of their lives to win custody of their children. Wounded by the acrimony and greed that often accompany divorce proceedings, many wonder if they will ever again be an important part of their sons’ and daughters’ lives. With this landmark book, renowned men’s rights attorney Jeffery M. Leving offers disenfranchised fathe…

Nora & Kettle (A Paper Stars Novel) Fans of Eleanor & Park and The Book Thief will love this startling and heart-warming take on Peter Pan. What if Peter Pan was a homeless kid just trying to survive, and Wendy flew away for a really good reason? Seventeen-year-old Kettle has had his share of adversity. As an orphaned Japanese American struggling to make a life in the aftermath of an event in history not often referred to―the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II and the removal of children from orphanages…